Kansans Recognized for Officiating Leadership

Published 02/09/2021


TOPEKA, Kan. KSHSAA registered official, Ron Price, has been honored with the National Federation Officials Association (NFOA) Section 5 Distinguished Active Official Award.

Ron, from LaCygne, has been served as a registered official for 47 years, working in the sports of basketball, football, softball, and volleyball. He has earned postseason assignments many times, including 33 championship tournament dates. Ron also serves as an outstanding mentor and teacher, working as an area supervisor for volleyball. Price was recognized as the 2013 NFOA Kansas Official of the Year for volleyball.

“Kansas is blessed to have dedicated officials who give back to our schools and communities and Mr. Price epitomizes the selfless and faithful service as a highly respected and successful official. Ron is very deserving of this recognition and Kansas interscholastic activities are better because of his service,” said KSHSAA Executive Director, Bill Faflick.

Section 5 includes the states of Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota.

The NFHS also recognized twelve other active officials as 2020 State Officials of the Year. These officials have made significant contributions to high school officiating as a KSHSAA registered official.

Baseball Jason Clemensen, Pittsburg

Basketball – Boys William Tunstall, Independence

Basketball – Girls Margaret Hasenkamp, Seneca

Football Kirk Simone, Silver Lake

Gymnastics Suzie Taggart, Shawnee

Soccer – Boys Mark Harms, Topeka

Soccer – Girls Gordie Wetmore, Olathe

Softball Tom Drake, Ottawa

Track & Field – Boys Jim Krob, Hays

Track & Field – Girls Dale Downing, Bel Aire

Volleyball Tracy Smith, Moran

Wrestling Adam Venegas, Lenexa

Congratulations to all these officials for being recognized by the NFHS and KSHSAA for their contributions to officiating.