Phillipsburg High School seniors earn Kansas Honor Scholar Recognition

Published 04/06/2021

Five PHS seniors honored as Kansas Honor Scholars

The Kansas Honor Scholars Program released this year’s honor scholars. Phillipsburg High School had five seniors receive the prestigious award: Kagan Keeten, Collette Kennedy, Ethan Leidig, Kay Pakkebier and Ty Sides.

Since 1971, the KU Alumni Association has sponsored the Kansas Honor Scholars Program, which honors the top 10% of the senior class.

Recipients are generally honored with a banquet, medallion and a certificate of achievement. However, in this pandemic year, the banquet was changed to a virtual recognition where honorees will be recognized on the website along with a video message from University of Kansas Chancellor Doug Girod.

Recipients will also have a commemorative program available to them in May that will list the names of all Kansas Honor Scholars and photos that were submitted by schools and individuals.