Panthers split double dual in Oberlin

Published 01/16/2023


On Thursday, Jan. 12, the Phillipsburg High School wrestling team traveled to Oberlin for a double dual with Oberlin and McCook, Ne.

The Panther varsity team defeated Oberlin 54-17.

Individual results are as follows: 106: Double Forfeit 113: Josh Juenemann (ODC) over Alek Miller (PHIL) (TF 17-1 2:28) 120: Kaden Sisson (PHIL) over Reid Fort (ODC) (Fall 1:28) 126: Gavin Driggs (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 132: Blake Buresh (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 138: Lukas Zodros (ODC) over Jackson Irwin (PHIL) (Fall 1:29) 144: Cole Keeten (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 150: Carsen Meitl (PHIL) over Thoe Butterfield (ODC) (Fall 1:49) 157: Colton Dougherty (PHIL) over Conner Holiday (ODC) (Fall 2:50) 165: Kayden Hudson (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 175: Garrett Emigh (ODC) over Blayze Christy (PHIL) (Fall 0:53) 190: Trace Hanchett (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 215: Chaz Roth (PHIL) over Open Open (ODC) (For.) 285: Double Forfeit

In the dual with McCook, Ne., McCook edged out the Panthers for the win 36-34. Individual results were as follows: 106: Double Forfeit 113: Alek Miller (PHIL) over Hunter Bland (MCCO) (Fall 0:35) 120: Kaden Sisson (PHIL) over (MCCO) (For.) 126: Gavin Driggs (PHIL) over Jack Siegfried (MCCO) (Fall 2:13) 132: Blake Buresh (PHIL) over Cadde Beeby (MCCO) (MD 15-4) 138: Trenton Raile (MCCO) over Jackson Irwin (PHIL) (Fall 3:01) 144: Tristan Campbell (MCCO) over Cole Keeten (PHIL) (Fall 2:26) 150: Carsen Meitl (PHIL) over Kalen McCorkle (MCCO) (Dec 12-8) 157: Canyon Hosick (MCCO) over Colton Dougherty (PHIL) (Fall 2:26) 165: Kayden Hudson (PHIL) over (MCCO) (For.) 175: Alex Anthony (MCCO) over Blayze Christy (PHIL) (Fall 0:42) 190: Trace Hanchett (PHIL) over Davien Hanson (MCCO) (Dec 6-3) 215: Quentin Terry (MCCO) over Open Open (PHIL) (For.) 285: Spencer Steinbeck (MCCO) over Open Open (PHIL) (For.)

On the same day, the Phillipsburg JV squad battled McCook at the dual. McCook defeated Phillipsburg 18-6 in the dual.

Individual results were as follows: 144: Tate Schafer (MCCO) over Braxtyn Shields (PHIL) (Fall 0:51) 150: Aidrian Hassel (PHIL) over Jackson Blomstedt (MCCO) (Fall 1:35) 175: Gabe Roberts (MCCO) over Jeremiah Jacobs (PHIL) (Fall 1:53) 190: Keagan Reece (MCCO) over Chaz Roth (PHIL) (Fall 1:18)